American Adventures

Hi all again,

I know there was no more blogs expected but this is my blog and I’ll write if I want to so here’s an encore at least on my travels in North America atm :). So my German buddy Jan and I visited NYC (New York City) for 5 days and as expected it was eventful and interesting, if I was to say something about New York it would be that it would be the place I love to visit without living there, downtown Manhatten is crazy and the grandeur/splendour of the city did not disappoint.

The journey started itself on a less than promising start with us missing our first flight then having to hang around Halifax airport for 4 hours due to the crazy shuttle driver not turning up, its never my fault haha but this was only the beginning as throughout the trip I managed to lose one of my memory cards for my digital camera, which was always going to happen having it in my camera bag for the past 3 years. Fortunately most of my photos I’d transferred to my USB and Jan also moved some of his across to mine. Another interesting or poignant moment was being about the only 2 “white guys” in the Bronx Macca’s near Yankee Stadium, lets just say ive never felt so white although it was an awesome experience, one which I felt completely safe in :). Other highlights of the trip included:

* The major highlight I’d say would have to be a basketball game @ MSG (Madison Square Garden) between the Knicks and Nuggets, with the atmosphere being amazing and the Knicks winning by 3 to extend their winning streak to 7 games and Amare Stoudamire shot his 8th straight 30 point game.

* Visiting the touristy spots of Times Square (it really did live up to the expectation), Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Rockafeller Centre, Central Park etc

* For any sporting fan or anyone who wants a great experience Yankee stadium and the tour was amazing, touring the press box, the memorial park, the muesum and being able to hold a world series ring that they won last year, along with our Macca’s experience I described earlier ๐Ÿ™‚

* Checking our a club here and there, managing to get into an apparently private party in a club somewhere in Manhatten after having a few drinks then getting home 5am. Also we stayed in Brooklyn, which itself is an experience to behold due to the bars the atmosphere and the people

* New York Muffin bakery, made one of the best bagels you could ever eatย along with fresh orange juice and some awesome muffins especially when heated up ๐Ÿ™‚

* The Hostel we stayed @ had 3 Aussies who I’m not particularly typical, one was from Melbourne and very metro/alternative, another was a bit of an aggressive drunk who was kinda abnoxious, while the finally dude batted for the other side but I guess he was from Perth anyway, a part thats always been a bit outta the way, this was one of the experiences, either the good, bad or ugly ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok I’ve also managed to find a few differences or things I wasnt expecting that I’ll let you in on a lil secret:

*They by law cant sell beer in liquor stores or soft drink as they sell them in Deli’s and thus can only sell Wine or liquor

* New Yorkers have the typical big city reputation of not being the most hospitable, from what I could gather from the few days I had there this wasnt the case and most were reasonably friendly, however they struggled a lil with giving accurate directions haha

*Bought an over-priced $3 mini hotdog @ Central Park after the guy told me $2 felt like someone pulled the rug out from under me, speaking of which we were also conned into buying a $3 hip hop CD in times square that I’m sure ill never listen too lol.

* Shuttle driver not only nearly killed us on the crosstown ride, also left us unattended in the shuttle for well over 10 minutes without any explanation, shouldve taken off on him ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway thats all from me for now and potentially until I travel again, keep an eye out I may be coming to a desination near you sooner than you think. Take Care I’ll be home in Aus soon, I’ll miss you Canada :O and all the awesome experiences/people I’ve met

Aussie Jef ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to American Adventures

  1. Sounds awesome!

    Brings back fond memories of my travels there too!

Leave a comment